COST BENEFIT ANALYSIS OF MODERN BEEKEEPING IN KENYA
The modern beekeeping technology is a sure live hood of the farmers because as opposed to the traditional method, the langstroth hive has two chambers separated by queen excluder which ensures that the queen is not killed during the harvesting thus no swarming as in the case with traditional log hive. In addition, harvesting is only done in the upper chamber and by use of honey extractor hence combs are not destroyed making the bees refill them again with honey thus having the forest harvest at list 4-6 times in a year as opposed to traditional log.
Beekeeping project (with our support) will enable the local farmers to have an alternative means of livelihood and earn high of livelihood and earn high annual income as they contribute hugely to # climate changes. These incomes are expected to gradually rise with future seasons.
The first harvesting is after 3-5 months and since the honey combs aren’t destroyed because the harvesting is by use of honey extractor, subsequent harvests are after three months.
Remember less time is needed for management and almost nil supervision. Beekeeping is the least expensive project to install/keep with huge returns. It is one projects that can be started and run by even local communities with relatively little capital and education.
However, many farmers languish in abject poverty due to lack of proper knowledge skills, modern hives and other essential tools for beekeeping. It is this gap that we at Beecare Africa through Makueni Beekeepers do capitalize in to ensure sustainable bee keeping in Kenya is realised.
What we shall provide for ideal apiary when you enter into contract with us
- We will provide minimum 30 langstroth hives at a cost of Ksh 5,000each. This will be inclusive of transport, installation, training and monthly visits for technical support.
- We will undertake all training on beekeeping and beekeeping husbandry practices for your farm managers.
- We will visit the farm 4 times after the installation for technical support including colony division.
- We shall provide ready market for the produce at the current market rate, honey at ksh. 700 per kg, propolis Ksh 1,900 per kg, royal jelly ksh 38,000- per kg, bee pollen at Ksh 6,800 per kg and bee venom at ksh 4,000 per gram.
ANTICIPATED BEEKEEPING FINANCIAL RETURN ON INVESTMENT (RIO)
An average production figure of 20kgs occupied hive is an achievable figure for most farmers. However this could increase to 30kgs or more per hive depending on the area and the management of the bees. In particular, if swarming and production is controlled and production of honey maximized. But we shall use 20 langstroth hives. We project an occupation rate of 80%, just in case hive not all hive colonized; which would mean 16 hives out of the 20 are at production stage: making an average of 10-20kgs in every colonized bee hive.
Based on the best practices, it’s expected that
20 langstroth hives @5,000*20=ksh 100,000
Smoker @ 1,700.00
Gloves @ 500.00
Hivetool @ 750.00
Bee brush @ 600.00
Uncapping fork @ 850.00
Centrifuge/ honey extractor @ 35,000
Miscellaneous @ksh 10,000
#total cost is ksh 152,400
OPTIONAL BEE KEEPING EQUIPMENTS
Anti-crawling insects Metallic stand 24,000
Propolis collector 1,000
Pollen collector 3,500
Royal jelly harvesting kit 6,000
Bee venom collector 80,000
Grand total cost: 114,500+152,400=ksh 266,900
- A single langstroth hive will yield 10-22 Kgs purified honey,2-3 kgs for the propolis , 500grms -1kg for the royal jelly and 500 grams for the bee pollen.
- Harvesting will be between 2-3 times in a year after colonization for the honey, 3-4 times for the propolis, 1-2 times for the royal jelly, and 3 times for the bee pollen.
- We will buy a kg of honey at ksh 500 for the honey ksh 1900 for the propolis, royal jelly at 38,000 per kg and bee pollen at ksh 6,800 per kg.
# Now the yields;
- Honey 10kgs (lowest) per hive * ksh 700 per kg * 2 harvests in a year 16 langstroth hives =ksh 224,000
2. Propolis 2kgs per hive *ksh 1900 per kg * 3times in a year * 16 hives =ksh 182,400
3. Royal jelly 1 harvest in a year 1kg *ksh 38,000 per kg *16 hives = ksh 608,000
4. Bee pollen 1kg * 3 harvests in a year *ksh 6,800 per kg * 16 hives =326,400
5. Bee venom 1kg*3 harvests in a year *ksh 4,000 *16 hives =192,000
#total: ksh 1,532,800
#BEE KEEPING PROFIT (ROI)
Profit= Benefit – Cost=ksh 1,532,800 -266,900= ksh 1,265,900
Remember these estimates are on the lower points. you can start with fewer hives also and scale up or start with more hives to achieve your dreams within a very short period of time.
So in the first year you will have made this. In the next year no equipment cost. And for over 20 years you will have the hives working.
If you think you can try this, do not hesitate. We shall get you everything and have the apiary set up and make you an additional member who will benefit from our expertise.
Talk to our experts today and get started 0718280564 or email@example.com